Continuing Education Committee

Welcome to the Continuing Education Page!
We hope you check this page for information about upcoming seminars and conferences our committee sponsors. We work to provide ULA members with continuing education opportunities throughout Utah.


Charge
To represent ULA on continuing education issues in Utah; to coordinate with the Utah State Library Division in implementing the continuing education directives of the Statewide Advisory Committee on Library and Information Services; to recommend to the Board of Directors specific proposals for association support and expenditures for continuing education opportunities for ULA members; to foster continuing education involvement by ULA members at the annual conference and at least one regional workshop; and to prepare and administer periodic needs assessment surveys.

Archive
We have an archive of past events we have sponsored and handouts related to presentations we have made.  Please follow this link for more information.
We have pictures from our last Fall Conference in Utah State’s Merrill-Cazier library! See them in the file list below.

Composition
The committee should consist of a chairperson appointed by the vice- president/president-elect of ULA, the Continuing Education Coordinator of the Utah State Library Division will be invited to serve as an ex official member, and at least five additional members representing as many types of libraries as possible.


Current Officers

Co-Chair
Valerie Buck
Rare Books/Literature Cataloger, BYU
valerie_buck@byu.edu
801-422-4477

Co-Chair – Erin Mendoza
Manager, Day-Riverside Branch, Salt Lake City Public Library
emendoza@slpl.org
801-594-8630

Members:
Azra Basic
Adult Services Librarian, Marmalade Branch, Salt Lake City Public Library
abasic@slcpl.org
801-594-8683
 
Sue Hill
Director, Brigham City Library
bclibrarydir@yahoo.com
435-723-5850

John Ingersoll
Director, Grantsville City Library
jingersoll@grantsvilleut.gov
435-884-1670

Connie Lamb
Social Sciences Librarian, BYU
Connie_lamb@byu.edu
801-422-6196

LaRee Parkinson
Public Services Librarian, American Fork Library
Laree@afcity.net
801-854-5966

Jessica Whetman (State Library Liaison)
Training Coordinator, Utah State Library
jwhetman@utah.gov
801-715-6762