Highlighting Diverse Authors

Year of Learning

The December Year of Learning challenge was “Suicide Prevention.” The training provided during the holidays was on your own and on demand. I hope you had time to review the excellent training provided by American Fork Librarian, Wendy Annas. The monthly challenge was to create a display in your library to promote mental health and support struggling community members.

During the month of January, library equity partners, the Utah Library Association and Utah State Library will focus on Highlighting Diverse Authors. Please to take advantage of the monthly opportunities to learn, interact, and take action, leading up to the ULA 2022 Annual Conference. Explore the Year of Learning Hub to familiarize yourself with the year long “United in Diversity | Unida en la Diversidad” curriculum.

Rita Christensen (She/Her/Hers)
ULA President, 2021-2022

January 2022: Highlighting Diverse Authors

LEARN Webinar: Let’s Talk Race Literacy Kits – Salt Lake City Public Library – On Demand. Talking openly about race with kids can dramatically improve their racial literacy—but grown-ups often don’t know where to start! You’ll receive a list of favorite race education resources, and a step-by-step plan for developing kits on your own. Featured speakers: Charlene Dy, Diana Castro, Nancy Funes, and Lindsey Watts. [View Now]

DISCUSS Zoom Meetup: Highlighting Diverse Authors – Thursday, January 27, 2022 @ 12:00 p.m. Before January 27th, take some time to watch Let’s Talk Race Literacy Kits from ULA’s Fall 2021 workshop. Then on January 27 at noon, we’ll meet for a discussion to talk about what we’ve learned and what questions we have. We’ll discuss what ideas you have for highlighting diverse authors and brainstorm ideas on how to fill any gaps in library services. What have you done at your library to boost diverse voices? What ideas do you have? We can also chat about any issues you’ve encountered or details you’ve learned or anything you’d like to share about shining a light on diverse authors. [Register Now]