Silent Auction: 10 More Donations Needed

To meet the number of donations from last year, we need about 10 more donations.
Please consider contributing an individual donation or combining with colleagues to make a donation. In the past, donations have ranged from goodies baskets, signed books, gift cards, local merchandise, artwork and more.

All proceeds from the Silent Auction go directly into the ULA Scholarship Fund. These scholarships enable recipients to attend professional development opportunities like the ULA conference, the Association of Rural and Small Libraries Conference, and more!

If you plan to donate something, see the instructions below.

Donation Instructions:

  • Email Emily Darowski ( or Sydney Biggs (  with the following information about your donation: name and email of donor, name of donation (e.g., Level Up Your Reading Shelf), description of donation, and value of item.
  • Bring your auction item(s) ready to go (baskets, ribbons, cellophane, etc.) to the conference registration tables no later than Thursday, May 17th at 10am. If you won’t be attending the conference, consider sending items with colleagues who will be attending or contact the silent auction committee to coordinate pickup.
  • All donations are tax deductible; make sure to request receipts from the silent auction committee.

Plan to attend the silent auction and social at the annual conference on Thursday, May 17, 4pm.

This year, the ULA Silent Auction and Networking Social was shifted earlier to 4pm on Thursday, May 17th. We’ve changed things up to make this the closing session of the day with a short keynote and improved networking opportunities. We really want everyone to be able to come and enjoy this time to reconnect.

Donating items and/or bidding during the silent auction is great way to support the ULA organization and our librarians. 


Early Bird Deadline to LEVEL UP is April 9- Register Now!

Don’t Miss Your Chance to LEVEL UP at the Early Bird Rate!  The 2018 ULA Conference will be held May 16-18, 2018 at the Utah Valley Convention Center in Provo, Utah and you will save at least $30 with full access to the conference (including pre-conferences!) when you register by April 9.

Get on the leader board with keynotes such as Kris Boesch, CEO and Found of Choose People, who will teach how to experience more joy at work; Roger Altizer, co-founder of Entertainment Arts and Engineering, the top-ranked game design program in the nation; and Miguel Figueroa from the Center for the Future of Libraries talking about trends and values for the Library of the Future.  Elevate your skills with informative and entertaining preconferences featuring Kris Boesch, Roger Altizer, and Utah’s own Gene Nelson. Learn from experts and colleagues about innovative services, programs, and more with regular conference sessions that will provide you with strategies and tactics for playing the game in Utah libraries.  Check out the full conference schedule to see what’s available.

AND there will be a raffle prize drawing after the last session on Friday for a Nintendo Switch, so you can really get your game on!  However, you must be present to win, so don’t delay and register for the conference today.  Raffle tickets can be earned at the silent auction and networking social on Thursday at 4pm and by attending the last session on Friday from 3:30-4:20pm.

There is so much happening at ULA’s 2018 Annual Conference, don’t lag and miss your chance to save money and take your professional development and your library to the next level!  Register today!

ULA Election Results

2018 ULA Election Results 


Proposed Change to Article 5 of the Bylaws 

Passed. Association membership will be for a rolling 12 month period from the join/renewal date (replacing the annual January – December membership).


Meet your incoming officers: 

President – Elect. Vern Waters

(2) Board Members-at-Large. Kim Fong and Emily Swensen Darowski

Public Section Chair and Vice Chair. Trish Hull and Patrick Hoecherl

School Section Chair and Vice Chair. Amy Jamison and Shelly Ripplinger

Special Section Chair.  Jessica Van Buren 

MPLA Representative. Joe Frazier

All Round Table officers were confirmed. See the full list here